Dating Expectations vs Reality


Keeping in the dating series of blogs I just had to share one of my most recent dating disasters with you, my readers who like to hear about my misadventures in dating.

Recently I met an older guy who worked a lot and thought I would give him a chance. I’d only been dating younger guys and that had gotten me nowhere. Unless you count being stood up and left with the bill at a restaurant as going well. We had done our first date walking around a Meijers because that’s the only thing that was open after 9 pm since he worked till 8. We had a nice conversation and we then planned to do breakfast date together after he got back from a weekend away.

Well after texting throughout the weekend I was looking forward to this date, I even dressed up for it. But I woke up a little later than expected, forgot to charge my phone last night so I charged it in the car and I got stuck at a red light waiting for my turn had to wait thru two strings of traffic till finally right before the third one I made my turn ( yes I know that’s wrong but I was already late).

Once I got there I apologized but I guess that wasn’t enough to please this guy because When I went in he was getting back in his car and leaving and it wasn’t till I got back to my car after getting my own breakfast that I saw his message that I was a no-show:  I was only 9 minutes late!!  He had been there 5 minutes early so I was at a disadvantage before I even got there.

My expectation had been that he would be there waiting for me with a smile and say no problem I’ve just been looking at the menu, checking my phone messages etc and you look great. That’s not what I got at all, I got a fleeting look at my date leaving cause he was too darn impatient. All that prep was for nothing I had breakfast alone which ended up a coffee and cookie on my limited budget.

he claimed I had made a horrible impression on him well he made one on me too: he showed that he was impatient and that this would be the way he always was as I am chronically late to things. What’s the rule about being late? I think I wasn’t that late and this guy was truly impatient and I am better off without him.

Lesson Learned: Better to find out your dates flaws early instead of finding out later once you are invested in the relationship and its time to go find new guys to date.

Leave a Reply

