A Weekend of Joy & Sadness

This weekend marks two events that are important, one is joyous and happy the other is sad as it has been for the last six years.

The joyful event is my birthday, I turn 38 on Saturday, June 17.  I have to work as usually but I am looking forward the cards and birthday wishes from my friends and family.  I plan to make the most of this day. I love a big fuss being made over me on my birthday as it’s my special day. Maybe that’s because I’m an only child.  I was actually born on fathers day and I am not looking forward to next year. In fact, I might even celebrate my birthday on another day.

parents

This brings me to the sad part of the weekend a day we celebrate our fathers, and I did too up till 2011 when I lost mine. He lived a long life and I can now smile at memories instead of having tears. Sure, I tried to do church and deal with the day but it’s too much for me. I can’t stand all the advertisements celebrating fathers day, seeing all those families at church with their fathers who are still here while mine is gone. So I’m officially skipping the holiday I put myself into work and just treat it as another day. This weekend I plan to be socially offline on Sunday with the

So I’m officially skipping the holiday I put myself into work and just treat it as another day. This weekend I plan to be socially offline on Sunday with the expectation of emails but no facebook for me.  I wish a happy fathers day to all of you who are lucky enough to still have your dads with you, make the most of the time you have. Don’t take it for granted because one year it could be gone and you will become one of the many who are fatherless on this holiday.

Leave a Reply

